top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKate Householder

In Sickness and In Health

You know that famous line from almost everyones marriage vows? Let me tell you a little about them.

When your husband works in the oilfield, throw those in the trash. And your husband too. JUST KIDDING!!.... maybe.



There are no sick days. It doesn't matter if you are dead on the floor, they'll say there isn't anyone to replace you; that you need to work. Seriously. It sucks.


That means over the past three consecutive years I've not been able to take any sick days. I like to call it being a married single mom. Single moms, I give you some serious credit. Taking care of one older child while being sick is one thing. Taking care of a baby while being sick? That's hell.


So "in sickness and in health", means I had my significant other holding my hand during chemotherapy every time and helping me through the sick days after infusions? Nope. Most of the time I was at home with the kids after infusions. Even during my pregnancy. Symptoms lasted up to a week for me. That made it to where the shitty side effects lasted far beyond his days off.


Even during my pregnancy and immunotherapy infusions, there were times where I went to the hospital and we didn't think he was going to be able to come support me. Do you know how scary it is to make decisions affecting your unborn child alone when you have a significant other involved? I sure hope not.


I don't write this to get pitty. I'm writing this to bring awareness to all those married who sacrifice their own well-being so their significant other can pursue their career. To all you single married women out there, here's a virtual high-five!


*Pictured below is my first chemotherapy treatment*






26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page